The department plans to raise $200,000 in private giving to upgrade the 20-year-old undergraduate learning labs. If the campaign is successful, these funds would be matched with $50,000 from the UW’s College of Engineering. Your support will make the difference.

The world is in the middle of a materials revolution. Materials science and engineering has transformed every aspect of modern living. Advances in engineered materials are crucial to the continued vitality of countless industries. Our department is at the heart of this revolution.


UW Materials Science & Engineering is accredited by ABET.

Events & Notices »

Autumn 2010 MSE 520 Seminar Series
See our schedule of autumn quarter seminars

NRC Assessment of Research Doctorate Programs
9-27-10 | Dean Matt O'Donnell and Chair Alex Jen voice concerns about accuracy of data used in National Research Council Assessment of Research Doctorate Programs.

News »

Kannan Krishnan Elected to IEEE Magnetics AdCom
Prof. Krishnan has been been elected to a 3-year term on the Administrative Committee of the IEEE Magnetics Society starting January 2011

Rolandi’s Research F eatured on the Cover of Advanced Materials
The latest results from Marco Rolandi’s group and co-workers on “Scanning-probe direct-write of germanium nanostructures” are featured on the cover Advanced Materials (41/20100 Click here for the full article .

4 New Faculty Members for MSE
MSE is proud to welcome four new faculty members this autumn. Click on the title link for more information.

Tom Stoebe Selected for ASM Award
Prof. Emeritus Thomas G. Stoebehas been selected to receive the ASM Albert Easton White Distinguished Teacher Award in 2012 in recognition for his significant accomplishments in the teaching and research of materials science and engineering.”

Christine Luscombe Named COE Faculty Innovator
Prof. Christine Luscombe was the recipient of the College of Engineering's Faculty Innovator: Junior Award , presented at the June 2010 Community of Innovators Award ceremony.

James Williams Receives Diamond Award
MSE alum Prof. James Williams (BS MetE 62, MS MetE 64, PhD MetE 68) ) is the recipient of the College of Engineering's 2010 Diamond Award for Distinguished Achievement in Academia .

Kannan Krishnan, Fulbright Roster of Specialists
Kannan Krishnan has been selected by the Fulbright Specialist Program to serve as a candidate on the Fulbright Specialist Roster in the fields of Education and Materials Science.